Founding leadership team

Joy Deupree

UAB School of Nursing

Robert Wood Johnson Executive Nurse Fellow

Nancy E. Dunlap
Professor Emeritus of Medicine

University of Alabama at Birmingham

John Beard

President and Chairman

Alacare Home Health and Hospice Services, Inc.


Peggy Benson

Executive Officer

Alabama Board of Nursing

Cynthia Bisbee

Executive Director

The Wellness Coalition, Montgomery

Rosemary Blackmon

Executive Vice President and COO

Alabama Hospital Association

Jim Carnes

Policy Director

Alabama Arise

Joann Clough

Transitional Care Coordinator

UAB Hospital

Michael Crouch

Dean and Professor

McWhorter School of Pharmacy

Samford University

Chanda Crutcher

Chief Executive Officer

American Senior Assistance Programs, Inc.

Conan Davis

Assistant Dean

Community Collaborations and Public Health

UAB School of Dentistry

Robin DeMonia

Senior Vice President

Direct Communications

C. Ann Gakumo

UAB School of Nursing

Robert Wood Johnson Nurse Faculty Scholar

Leah Garner

Director of Governmental Affairs and Advocacy

Business Council of Alabama

Anne Hails

Associate State Director of Community Outreach

AARP Alabama

Paul Kennedy


Walker Area Community Foundation

Karen Kennedy,

Associate Dean

UAB School of Business

Kathleen Ladner

Co-leader, AL-HAC

Adjunct Associate Professor 

UAB School of Nursing

Patricia Marincic

Associate Professor

College of Human Sciences

Auburn University

Tom Miller

Medical Director

Alabama Department of Public Health

Margaret Morton

President, Advisory Committee

Alabama Network of Family Resource Centers

Nan Priest

Executive Vice President and Chief Strategy Officer

St. Vincent’s Health System

Anne Schmidt

Medical Director

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Alabama

Wesley Smith

Chief Executive Officer

Alabama Quality Assurance Foundation

Julia Sosa

Director, Office of Minority Health

Alabama Department of Public Health

John Stone

Manager, Community Action

Children's of Alabama

David Walters

Director for Adult Education

Alabama Community College System

Cody Thompson

Director of Health Related Programs

Alabama Community College System

Darlene Traffanstedt

Member, State Committee of Public Health

Internal Medicine Physician,

Hoover, AL

April Weaver

Alabama House of Representatives

Deborah Wesley

Chief Nursing Officer

Children's of Alabama

Jackie Wuska

President, Chief Executive Officer

The United Way of West Alabama

© Alabama Health Literacy Initiative 2017

Website funded in part by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

and maintained by AL-HAC